The Girliest, Girly Weekend with My Girls!

So last weekend, I had the BEST weekend in recent memory . . . loved it!

My gorgeous friend Isobella turned twenty-nine. We were chatting about perhaps going away for a night to Manchester or somewhere brand new, but after weighing up the options, she decided that she wanted to travel up to visit me and we’d head out and enjoy the weekend in Blackpool.

She arrived late last Friday night, and I had a glass of white wine waiting for her. We could literally talk forever; we don’t talk on the phone too often, because we try to catch up in person as often as we can. We had a busy day ahead of us on Saturday, so we got snugged up in my bed by 01:00-ish.

We woke early the next morning, and I made us a spot of breakfast.

snapchat-1590147125.jpg

After a rapid leg shave and a hunt for fresh towels, we walked out into the torrential rain and jumped in the car to Spa on the Breck, and small spa in the pretty market town of Poulton-le-Fylde. In the coming week, we’d mm’ed and ahh’ed loads about what sort of treatments we actually wanted, but wanting to save some cocktail pocket money and experience as much as possible, we opted for the spa journey, a two-hour experience that will turn your bones to jelly.

20031613_10159106407810615_8957097509786139091_n

When we arrived, we were given flip-flops and fluffy robes by a very warm, soft-spoken lady (Lucy, I think?!) and were given the instructions how to make the most of the spa. It is essentially one big room with separate chambers where in total, there are ten relaxing experiences to enjoy. There are monsoon showers, an amazing jacuzzi that proper pummels all of the tension out of your muscles, a sauna (such a wimp, only managed about five minutes at a time), steam rooms, aromatherapy rooms, foot spa and heated benches.

 

Your session lasts up to two hours. I was told by colleagues that they felt they wouldn’t need that amount of time, but we made use of every minute. Every time we thought we reached saturation point for relaxation, we slipped deeper into feeling awesome.

Spa facilities can often have a cloying, damp smell but it was so fresh and clean here. The water fountain in the spa is an essential part of staying hydrated and helps to detoxify you. The staff were lovely, the venue is stylish and for £18.00 at peak times, it is phenomenal value for money. I can’t wait to go again; Izzi and I are going back with our other halves before the Derren Brown show in September, and I’m going to treat myself to a spa journey and massage on my birthday in November.

We got home, and put out nighties on and just chilled. We felt so floppy and at peace that we didn’t feel the need to ram the weekend with FUN FUN FUN at all times. We painted our nails and whilst we were waiting for Llinos to arrive, I made an afternoon tea that went down pretty well!

19990333_10159106407920615_7496311138280723993_n.jpg

I, and I await my British fellow kin to gasp (politely of course), do not drink tea. I will drink it, but I don’t consider it the lifeblood of the nation as other UK natives do. I do, however, drink cocktails. I love trying out my own recipes, and here are two I created for home drinks:

 

IMG_20170630_153855_614Snapchat-2135068909

First is black sangria, and what self-respecting goth doesn’t drink black drinks in the height of summer? This is made with Apothic Red (I can’t find anywhere to buy Apothic Dark near me!), Chambord, crushed, overripe blackberries and the smallest twist of lime. It was sumptuous, fruity and dangerous tasting. Loved it.

Secondly, and perhaps more appropriate for summer, I poured some prosecco over ice and added a big slosh of Rhucello, a rhubarb liqueur that I bought at the Great Yorkshire Show last week. My only buyer’s remorse is that I didn’t get more. It’s SO tasty. Sweet and summery but tart enough to not be too over the top. It tasted just like rhubarb, and I’ll definitely try the other cocktail suggestions the jolly men selling it made!

IMG_20170715_232931_453

We took our time getting ready for our big night out, drinking wine and giggling. It was so lovely to not feel rushed, and it’s a truly rare treat to get all three of us together. I wore an obnoxiously bright, absolutely gorgeous dress from Pretty Little Thing that you can see here, and paired it with equally camp and fabulous shoes from Penthouse (Kat wedge) that you can see here.

We went to go and see the Ken Webster hypnotism show at Blackpool Pleasure Beach. Whilst I know that these girls have a really dark sense of humour, I was unsure if they’d take to Ken’s style of comedy. It was, as usual, delightfully crude with some pretty outrageous results. They loved it!

I agree with him that political correctness has sabotaged comedy, but some of the comments about women and the hapless gay bloke he hypnotised on stage were a bit Bernard Manning-esque and it made me wince. However, his skill as a hypnotist is flawless, he knows how to work a room and my throat was hoarse from absolutely SCREAMING with laughter for the whole show. The tickets are great value for money, and the show is pretty long to see the narrative through. Go watch it!

We went to the Tache Rock Venue and the Flying Handbag for the rest of the night to get our stomp on to everything from Pantera and Type O Negative to RuPaul and Gina G – YASS!

We got home mega late, and my neck is still hurting from headbanging now, haha!

We didn’t really get drunk the night before, so it was lovely to get up, have another fabulous breakfast and explore Blackpool a bit. We went on the Central Pier ferris wheel, said hello to the donkeys and had a paddle – bliss!

 

I feel so fortunate to have spent the weekend with such wonderful women; they make me laugh my ass off and make me feel absolutely great.

Have you caught up with your best friends lately? Please link me to your blogs! I get a warm and fuzzy feeling reading about everyone else’s adventures!

Love and strength,

Steph
xo

2 thoughts on “The Girliest, Girly Weekend with My Girls!

Add yours

    1. How kind ^_^. I can assure you that my weekends aren’t generally this camp-y and resplendent with goth women and alcohol! Paha!

      Thank you so much for commenting! xo

      Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑